Daddy

Talk to me a few minutes,
I’ll tell you about Daddy.
I won’t say he was a Christian, though he was.
I won’t say he read the bible daily, but he did.
I won’t talk about his wing shooting,
How he seldom missed, often doubled.
I won’t say he could make a dog
Do almost anything but talk,
Nor that he was kind, gentle,
Forgiving and courageous.
What I will tell you is
Not once in twenty-nine years
Did I ever hear him say,
“Not now, son. I’m too busy.”
Daddy ___ BlueFish Disgest ___ May / June 2014
Leave a Reply

